“Dependence Day”

Stretched out on a white, braided hammock that slowly swayed the weight of from my dangling leg, I waited for, and relished in, each tiny breeze that trickled across me, desperate for relief from the close July air.  Drifting in and out of deliberate thought, I wrestled with my wandering mind, forcing my eyes to return to the pages of my book to read that last paragraph… again.

I raised my book before me and tried to make sense of its jumbled words.  That’s when it happened. Rays of orange and pink hues crept across the pages, slowly spilling down my sunburned arm, beckoning me to turn and discover its source.  Straining my neck and looking behind me, I gasped, inhaling the reds and golds that flooded my face.  Carefully, I rotated my body in the unsteady hammock, fearful of disturbing any part of this moment.  I wanted to close my eyes and bask in the warmth, yet I was being wooed to partake in this feast of lights.  Golden beams darted in and out, playing hide-and-seek behind branches of oak, racing to kiss my shoulders and nose, and then racing back to the safety of the trees again. Within moments the fiery nashvi6sun hovered just above the place where the earth meets the sky, and then slowly, silently, sunk to its nightly resting place.

I lay my head back, finally able to close my eyes.  I sighed a deep, lung-filled sigh, grateful for glimpses of such majesty.  I allowed myself the drifting this time. But a distant boom startled me awake; reminding me that 4th of July celebrations would soon begin.  I could already hear the festivities as distant sounds of sky rockets and fire crackers began filling the twilight air.  Yet carried above the man-made sounds of independence, rose voices of utter dependence.  Drowning out the sounds of those proclaiming their self-rule, were thousands of tiny earth dwellers — crickets, cicadas, throaty tree frogs, and a few creatures I couldn’t even begin to name — all lifting their praises and proclamations of their being completely dependent on their Creator and happy to belong to Someone so much bigger than they.  I listened closer to their continual rhythmic melodies.  Crescendo.  Descend. Crescendo. Descend.  Then their melodic chants would return.  I wonder if we could interpret these declarations of dependence, would it sound something like:

 “Holy, Holy, Holy

is the Lord God Almighty

who was, and is, and is to come.”

 “Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under their wings.  Day and night they never stopped saying, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty who was, and is, and is to come.”   –Revelation 4:8

Hmmm… kinda sounds like some of the creatures I’ve seen buzzing around my backyard.

As our country stands poised, aimed and ready to celebrate their independence, I couldn’t help but think that instead, I should be celebrating and proclaiming, along with my backyard dwellers, my own utter dependence on the One who is so much bigger than me.

 

©2000 /All Rights Reserved

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

