seeing clearly…

focusI recently went to the eye doctor to update my prescription. It had been three years since my last exam and though I only wear glasses for reading and driving at night… I knew it was time. Okay, truth be told… I found a really cute pair of frames and wanted to get some trendy new glasses. Don’t judge.

So, I headed over to LensCrafters in the good old Opry Mills Mall (or as I like to say, Shoppry Mills)… and a very energetic sales women with a very deep Southern accent informed me that since my prescription was 3 years old I need  to have a fresh eye exam. All righty then.

So I walked next door to the little attached Optometrist’s office and asked to see the doctor. After a few minutes of paper work the receptionist ushered me into an exam room in the back. Moments later, Dr. Solomon walked in and sat on the chair facing me.

I tried desperately not to react. But Dr. Solomon had a glass eye. An eye doctor with a glass eye. And it wasn’t just any old ordinary glass eye… no, it was bulging from his eye socket as if it were improperly fit. And it was crooked, kind of looking up and off to the left. And it was the wrong color. His natural eye color was brown… the bulging orb had a blue iris. A blue, glassy iris.

I was so distracted. I barely muttered answers to his getting to know you questions. Oh, he was pleasant enough – jolly in fact. An older gentleman with a white comb-over and rosy cheeks. Kind of like Santa Claus without the beard, and well… two good eyes.

And he was quick with the tests. I mean, really quick. Flipping the little focusing dials back and forth, back and forth. “Does this look better? Or this? This? Or this? This? Or this?” Such lightning speed I barely had time to tell which actually looked better.

Then comes the chart reading. He would ask me to read a line while looking through the view finders. I was having trouble with the first and last letters on each line. I told him such and he merely said, “It’ll be okay”. I’m not sure why I didn’t question him more… but I didn’t. He showed me what my old prescription looked like and it was remarkably fuzzy. And the new one was certainly more clear. But I was still worried that I couldn’t see the first & last letters on the chart lines, but Dr. Solomon chuckled, looked at me and off to the left simultaneously and merely said, “It’ll be okay”.

So, still dumbfounded and feeling a little dizzy from all the dial flipping… I walked numbly out of the office and back over to LenCrafters. The perky sales woman, still eager to help, snatched my prescription from my hand and went about placing the order.

Perky Sales Woman: “So, did Dr. Solomon take good care of you?”
Me: “Uh, yes, I suppose.”
Perky Sales Woman: “Was he wearing his Titans Game Day eye?”
Me: “Pardon?”
Perky Sales Woman: “His game day eye! Oh, he has a glass eye with the blue Titans logo on it! He likes to wear it on game days…”
Me: “Oh. Um, no… he wasn’t wearing it. I think he was just wearing his every day eye.”
Perky Sales Woman: “Oh, too bad.”
Me: “Yeah, too bad.”
Perky Sales Woman: “Ok, you’re all set! Ready in ’bout an hour!”

So off I went, hoping for the best… and to kill some time in Shopry Mills Mall. After ’bout an hour of doing additional financial damage in Bed, Bath & Beyond (I mean, it really is beyond – they have everything!) I headed back to LenCrafters. When I walked in, my helpful sales lady was being perky with someone else, so I had a seat and waited. Another helpful sales person came over and brought me my glasses to try on. They fit well and looked great. I glanced around the room and I seemed to be able to see through them okay. But then I looked down and tried to read the sign in front of me. I had a hard time. “Just move your head around”, she said. “Move my head around?” “Yes, until you can see the words. They’re progressive lenses.  It’ll take a little while for you to learn to see through them.”

“This is crazy”, I thought. Now I have to learn to see through my glasses? But she assured me that after a few days of wearing them – that I’d be able to see fine.

Two days later, I went back. I still couldn’t see through them and they gave me a headache trying to focus and see the words. I was having better luck with my plain old $20 readers from Target. They checked my glasses and said that they were done correctly and insisted that I was still on a learning curve. So I left defeated, and still unable to read with my glasses.

It’s been 3 weeks. I’ve not learned to see with my glasses. In fact, it’s gotten worse. If I wear them for more than 5 minutes I get a major headache. Like when you try on someone else’s glasses and when you take them off you have to shake your head to get your vision back. So, I’m taking the advice of my friend Jenny and I’m going to call another LensCrafters and tell them the situation. I really think my prescription was written incorrectly. Sorry Dr. Solomon… nothing personal.

So, all that said… maybe sometimes we really do need to learn to focus. And sometimes, no matter how perky the saleswoman and regardless if your one-eyed eye doctor says “it’ll be okay”… sometimes the situation really is skewed and too difficult to see… and you just might need a second opinion.

5 thoughts on “seeing clearly…

  1. Yeppers. Second opinions are good. I went to get my eyes checked over the summer. I hadn’t done that in forever. I had trouble read the T F O P D thing with one of my eyes (I only have two). The eye doctor told me it wouldn’t hurt me to get glasses because one of my eyes wasn’t that good. I couldn’t believe it. I’d never thought I had bad eyes, nor that I’d ever have to get glasses.

    Thank you for letting me write this somewhat extraneous story.

  2. What does it mean that as I read the responses the letters got bigger and bigger? I still can’t wait to tell my eye doctor about this. He’ll be on the floor howling! As for me, after four weeks of waiting, I called the eye doctor back and finally got an appointment to have him look at my contacts again…which are driving me crazy! Love this story Deb!

Leave a Reply

