25 Random Things About Me

My friend Patsy just did his on her blog… and I thought I’d follow suit. I really like reading this on other people’s blogs… because it’s fun to get little insights to what makes them tick. I like being surprised and thinking, “I didn’t know that about them!” and it’s always fun to relate and think, “Hey! Me too!” Some things you may already know, but hopefully some will surprise you. Or at least make you laugh.

So here we go:

  1. I’m obsessed with 70’s colors (avocado green, chocolate brown, spiced orange, mustard yellow)
  2. I’m a hopeless romantic and I would have loved to have been born in the 1800’s. But with my iPhone.
  3. I played short stop in a Bobby Sox league when I was 10 years old. I was not good.
  4. I eat Indian food at least twice a week.
  5. I love reality TV but really don’t like admitting it.
  6. I love the smell of libraries.
  7. I’ve been chased across a parking lot by a large baboon.
  8. A fireplace makes my worst of days all better (that was horrible English, but you get the gist).
  9. My favorite writer in the Bible is Paul. But I really like Luke’s account of the Gospel.
  10. I’m a new convert to The Office. Yea, late as usual.
  11. I’m horribly allergic to Splenda®
  12. I hate math. Except for percentages. I really like percentages.
  13. My eyes have been in a music video. Just my eyes.
  14. I once trained 500 non-English speaking World Vision volunteers using one megaphone and one interpreter.
  15. I have snorkeled with sharks & stingrays in Belize.
  16. I like rap music.
  17. I was proposed to by a Massai warrior.
  18. I love banana Popsicles.
  19. My real last name is Bumpass.
  20. In 7th grade, I re-enacted the entire Star Wars movie (1st one) with 4 of my guy friends in the backyard. We even had scripts. Yes, I was Leah. Bun-head and all.
  21. I was once a foster mom for an abandoned new born for 8 weeks. His name is Joshua and he’s now 15yrs old.
  22. I had pet rats as a child.
  23. I have TWO Life Scriptures (OT & NT). Isaiah 58:10 When you give if your self to the hungry and satisfy the desires of the afflicted, your light will rise in darkness and your gloom will be like the noon day sun. Philippians 2:3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. I haven’t lived up to either.
  24. My favorite U.S. city is Santa Barbara. When I lived in California, I would go there once a month just to sit on the pier.
  25. I used to be called “Little Feather”. We belonged to a Father/Daughter club called Indian Maidens. We camped in TeePee’s. My dad was the chief and was called “Big Feather”. My sister was “Little Fluff”. Girl Scouts were for sissies.
4 thoughts on “25 Random Things About Me

  1. I LOVED your list. And yes it made me laugh…more than once. You are not only well-traveled you are a stitch.Now when you say Indian food is that American Indian or India?? Seems I’ve heard you speak of seasonings from India before…so I bet that’s it. Although Little Feather one cannot be sure til sun sets over ones teepee.You know what I think?? That we should do it again–another 25 things to make ourselves dig deeper.Since I was in Africa I can appreciate the baboon since they perched on the roofs of our huts and screeched trying to intimidate us–it worked.Good job Deb!

  2. Yes, East Indian… with curry and cardamom and coconut rice… It really was fun to think through the past like that.signed, Little Feather

  3. I love banana popsicles also – banana Laffy Taffy too. Might as well admit to a Banana Flip also- sort of like a Twinkie although it is half-moon shaped.Great list –Paula

  4. Hi Deborah, I’m visiting via Pollywog Creek, by way of Patsy Clairmont’s blog. I happened to see her list of links on the side and thought I’d look at a few. I HAD to comment here because I’m from Montana….that’s right, go to Billings to shop! It’s just so dadgum exciting to see someone who knows where that is. (Don’t come to Montana right now. It’s dreadful. Ice. Dirt. Wind. Don’t tell the Montana Travel Bureau I said that.)I’m going to try a list of 25 random things. You and Patsy did such a good job! I’m really going to have to dig, though.

Leave a Reply

