The Summer Harvest Is In…


aaaaand… here it is.

In all it’s glory.

My lone red chili pepper. Garnered from a 4 foot tall pepper plant.

Really? That’s it? That’s all ya got?

But it doesn’t matter. This wee little pepper has quite a punch. If you recall my post from early January, you’ll remember the power of the Diablo Rojo. Maybe it takes all 4 feet of plant to generate such heat. All concentrated into a single one inch puissant pod of crimson. So I am handling with care… and rubber gloves.

Speaking of heat – I am over summer. Over it. Done. I don’t need it any more. I love the outdoors. I’m an outdoors kinda girl, after all. But the sweltering summer days are off limits right now. I would wilt. Literally. Call me wimpy. But there you have it.

So I’ve been trying to bring the outside inside… filling my home with greenery and bringing all my outdoor plants in (I mean, even they are wilting and they’re supposed to be out there!) and I’m filling vases with fresh flowers. In every corner.

I’m even wearing a flowered skirt. I never wear flowered skirts. But desperate times call for desperate measures.

I hear it’s
dropping to 86 degrees tomorrow. A ‘nice cold front’ they say.

I say they are crazy.

But it’s 97 today. With a heat index of 101. (sigh)

So try to stay cool my friends. And pray for a speedy entrance of Fall. Do a Fall dance. Light a Fall candle. Summon the North winds. Whatever it takes to bring on the cool.

And if you’re still in need of refreshing…

try this West African Lemonade… or better yet, this.

3 thoughts on “The Summer Harvest Is In…

  1. Oh your lil’ chile looks spicy red…what are you going to do with it?Thanks for the cool lemonade recipe! I may try it this weekend…the highs are going to be in the 100’s here in Texas!!

  2. I laughed out loud at the harvest – it’s so cute! But I’m sure that little bugger packs a HOT punch.I swear I’m not trying to rub it in, but it’s been GORGEOUS up here in PA for the last two days. Sunny, low humidity, breezy and in the lower 80s. It’s only supposed to hit 79 degrees tomorrow! That’s crazy for August. But I’ll take it. I’ll take it and roll around in it and drink it up and let it blow through my hair as I drive around in my brother’s Wrangler with the top down….ahhh….Love you.

  3. Hey Deb,I so enjoy your site. You are such fun!Please don’t ask too much of the North winds we need them to stay up here…but I’ll think of you. 😉Happy Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

